Listen to this article.
Voiced by Amazon Polly

The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing (BCEN)the benchmark for specialty certification across the emergency spectrum, announces the 2022 winners of its annual BCEN National Certification Champion Award.

One winner in each category was selected based on their commitment to emergency, pediatric emergency, trauma, flight and/or critical care ground transport nursing excellence and professionalism through nursing specialty certification.

“More powerfully than ever before, this year’s record number of nominees shows how supporting emergency, trauma, and transport RN specialty certification benefits patients, nurses, healthcare teams, and communities with advanced care, improved clinical outcomes, and greater success and satisfaction across the board,” says BCEN CEO Janie Schumaker, MBA, BSN, RN, CEN, CENP, CPHQ, FABC. “The 2022 BCEN National Certification Champions truly set the bar for nursing excellence for emergency departments, trauma centers, transport programs, and health systems everywhere, and we applaud their leadership.”

2022 BCEN National Certification Champion Award Winners

Small Healthcare Organization: Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Centennial Emergency Department in Frisco, Texas (pictured above)

Large Healthcare Organization: Harris Health Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital Emergency Center in Houston, Texas

Healthcare System: Centura Health in Centennial, Colorado

Meet the winners in BCEN’s Meet the Winner series.

New this year, honorees will receive a certification support package, including complimentary passes to the BCEN Learn Live conference and free practice exams. In addition, BCEN will host a trophy presentation celebration at each winner’s location. 

“Congratulations to the team for their commitment to nursing and our patients,” says Susan Moats, chief nursing officer, Baylor Scott & White East Region. “This award from the Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing is a testament to the dedicated, quality, safe care our clinical teams provide to our community.”

See also
BCEN Announces Burn Nursing Specialty Certification for 2023

“We have an amazing team at Harris Health LBJ Hospital Emergency Center,” says Derek L. Curtis Sr., DNP, MA, RN, NEA-BC, chief nursing officer, Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital, Harris Health System. “Our emergency center leaders make it a priority to elevate and encourage nurses to practice at the highest levels of professional practice, which helps us efficiently treat the complex needs of our patients. I’m extremely proud of the number of certified nurses within our emergency center.”


2022 BCEN National Certification Champion Award Winner – Large Healthcare Organization Harris Health Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital Emergency Center in Houston, Texas

“At Centura Health, we are passionate about creating an environment that fully supports our incredible nurses,” said Brenda Simpson, DNP, RN, CENP, senior vice president, and chief nursing officer, Centura Health. “By offering professional growth opportunities and providing the tools and support needed to deliver outstanding patient care, we strive to enable our nurses to live their personal missions at work and in the communities we serve.”


2022 BCEN National Certification Champion Award Winner Healthcare System: Centura Health in Centennial, Colorado

Nursing specialty certification independently validates a nurse’s advanced knowledge, clinical judgment, and professionalism across a specialty body of knowledge. It’s associated with better patient care, safety and outcomes, and greater nurse career success and satisfaction.

Over 50,000 RNs and advanced practice registered nurses worldwide hold one or more BCEN nursing specialty credentials. Over 41,000 hold the Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN), over 5,500 hold the Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN), over 7,000 hold the Trauma Certified Registered Nurse (TCRN), over 5,300 hold the Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN), and over 400 hold the Certified Transport Registered Nurse (CTRN).

See also
Becoming Certified in Your Specialty

Nominations for the 2023 BCEN National Certification Champion Award open June 1, 2023.

Share This