Listen to this article.
Voiced by Amazon Polly

Once again, the University of California Davis Medical Center received magnet designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) for another four-year term. The medical center is the only one in the Sacramento region to have designation, joining eight percent of hospitals nationwide.

Donna Havens, the chair of the Commission on Magnet Recognition, made the announcement October 18 to more than 100 people who gathered on the UC Davis campus to hear the news. “UC Davis Medical Center is now one of the 36 organizations in California [to achieve Magnet status],” Havens said, “which is testament to your commitment to nursing excellence to support the entire health care team and, most importantly, to the patients and families you serve.” She highlighted nursing practices like daily safety huddles and nurse education and training that played a part in the ANCC’s decision to renew magnet designation.

This is the highest form of nursing excellence recognition in the country, awarded solely to hospitals who give their nurses authority to make bedside clinical decisions and who encourage their nurses to be involved in patient-care environment decisions.

Toby Marsh, chief nursing and patient care services officer at UC Davis Medical Center, shared his pride for the center’s renewed magnet designation. “What it really represents is the hard work that all the members of the care team across UC Davis Health do to provide our patients with the best possible care at all times,” he shared.

For more information about the UC Davis Medical Center, click here.

Lily Miller

Digital Content Coordinator at Daily Nurse
Lily Miller is the Digital Content Coordinator for In addition to covering the nursing world, she dabbles in food writing and comedy writing.
Lily Miller

More Nursing News

Share This