Top Trauma Nurse Julie Donnelly, MSN, RN, TCRN Earns 2021 BCEN Award

Top Trauma Nurse Julie Donnelly, MSN, RN, TCRN Earns 2021 BCEN Award

Held by nearly 6,200 nurses and introduced just five years ago, the Trauma Certified Registered Nurse (TCRN) is trauma nursing’s highest professional credential. Nurses who earn the TCRN must demonstrate advanced clinical knowledge and expertise across the continuum of trauma care from injury prevention to acute care to rehabilitation. Trauma is a major public health issue, and trauma nurses play a leading and highly collaborative role in trauma care. 

“Julie’s phenomenal success in supporting nurses to earn their TCRN trauma certification sets a prime example of how specialty certification contributes to better trauma nursing and better trauma patient care,” said BCEN CEO Janie Schumaker, MBA, BSN, RN, CEN, CENP, CPHQ, FABC. “She is a true champion for trauma excellence.” 

Trauma nurse Julie Donnelly, MSN, RN, TCRN won the 2021 BCEN TCRN award.
Trauma nurse Julie Donnelly, MSN, RN, TCRN

Led and spurred by Julie’s work, the certification rate of Thomas Jefferson University Hospital emergency department nurses with at least three years of experience has increased from 38% to 100%, and the certification rates in all of the hospital’s trauma-designated units consistently exceed the average certification rate across all nursing units. Thomas Jefferson University Hospital (TJUH) is an accredited Level I Regional Resource Trauma Center. 

“When the TCRN was introduced, we were so excited to have a certification just for trauma that we could offer to nurses in the trauma bay and in our intermediate and ICU trauma-designated units,” said Donnelly. “I am truly honored to receive this award. I see it as a team award for Jefferson and all of the trauma nurses here, not just me.” 

Read more about Julie in the “Meet the Winner” Q&A at https://bcen.org/2021-tcrn-award-winner/.

“Julie has demonstrated remarkable leadership and been a fierce advocate to improve trauma patient care and advance nurse education. This recognition by the Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing is an honor that both reflects her talent for elevating nurse professionalism in all the TJUH units involved in the care of trauma patients and supporting our system focus on improving lives,” said Kate FitzPatrick, DNP, RN, ACNP, FAAN, NEA-BC, System Chief Nurse Executive Officer, Jefferson Health. 

Donnelly was recognized via a virtual tribute by BCEN’s Schumaker on Friday, March 26, during TraumaCon 2021, the Society of Trauma Nurses‘ (STN) annual conference. The event is being held virtually this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The winner of this year’s BCEN Distinguished TCRN Award was determined by a selection committee consisting of BCEN board members, staff and volunteer subject matter experts as well as a representative from the Society of Trauma Nurses. 

University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Nursing Dean Presented with Executive Award

University of Hawaii at Manoa School of Nursing Dean Presented with Executive Award

Mary G. Boland, DrPH, RN, FAAN , dean and professor at the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UH Manoa) School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene, was recently presented with the 2017 Executive Award by the Healthcare Association of Hawaii. Boland was honored with the prestigious award for her leadership in the healthcare community, innovation, and employee morale.

Boland joined UH Manoa in 2005 following a distinguished career at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. She also worked in developing community based care systems for children and families dealing with chronic illnesses. As dean of the UH Manoa School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene for the past 12 years, Boland is credited with building academic partnerships for education, research, and service, and transforming education to meet the needs of the community.

UH President and Interim UH Manoa Chancellor David Lassner tells Manoa.Hawaii.edu, “Mary Boland is highly respected across the state as well as at the University of Hawaii. In addition to her positive contributions to healthcare in Hawaii, she is a tremendous asset. We are very proud of Mary and thank her for her commitment to serving the mission of UH Manoa, and furthering innovation and excellence for the School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene.”

At UH Manoa, Boland led efforts to implement statewide nursing education initiatives from baccalaureate through doctoral levels, developed a statewide partnership for a simulation center, and spearheaded interprofessional initiatives for the UH College of Health Sciences and Social Welfare.

Boland was presented with the award at the annual Awards and Scholarship Gala on Oct. 21, 2017. To learn more about Boland and the UH Manoa School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene, visit here.

2016 Nursing Research President’s Award Presented to Phyllis Sharps of Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

2016 Nursing Research President’s Award Presented to Phyllis Sharps of Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

The 2016 Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research (FNINR) President’s Award was presented to Phyllis Sharps, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor and Associate Dean for Community Programs at the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing (JHSON). This year’s President’s Award theme was “Nurse Scientists Leading the Advancement of Team Science.”

Sharps’ career has revolved around leading teams of scientists in medicine, public health, social work, and nursing. She has published over 80 articles in the areas of improving reproductive health, reducing violence amongst African-American women, and mitigating the physical and mental health consequences of violence against pregnant and parenting women. Sharps also led a research invention titled DOVE, Domestic Violence Enhanced Home Visitation Program, which has been tested and proven to reduce intimate partner violence among pregnant women. Other involvement in women’s health issues includes testifying before Congress, serving on Institute of Medicine (IOM) committees, and utilizing her role as a nurse to further policy agendas and team science in the nursing profession. [et_bloom_inline optin_id=optin_19]

In addition to the President’s Award, Dr. Sharps was recently awarded the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award in Education and Research from the Association of Black Nursing Faculty. She received the FNINR award at their annual NightinGala in Washington, DC over the weekend. Patricia Davidson, Dean of JHSON, credits Dr. Sharps as a great example of nurse leadership across disciplines, universities, and the globe for her innovations in sustainable initiatives, research, and practice.